Nine Stories by J. D. Salinger

Nine Stories by J. D. Salinger

 

I don’t read a lot of short stories but, reading Franny and Zooey for the first time put me in the mood to re-read Nine Stories, which I haven’t read since high school.  I was reminded why this book has retained a place on my bookshelf all of these years. 

A Perfect Day For Bananafish was the story that made the biggest impression on me in highschool, and which influenced my own writing style at the time.  It holds up well.  The real treat for me, however, was The Laughing Man which would have to go in my theoretical collection of my all time favorite short stories. 

For Esme In Love and Squalor is also a particular strong story. 

Salinger died shortly after I re-read this book.  This raises the intriguing possibility that we may well be treated to the first new published material from J. D. Salinger in over 45 years.  Salinger was famously adverse to the publicity that accompanied publishing but he never stopped writing and rumor has he has even documented which on his unpublished works are ready for publication and which are in need of further editing.  The hope is that he has left instructions with his estate for the posthumous publishing of much of this material.

Leave a Reply

